Legal

ELSTER - The standard of tax administration

The fiscal code and the individual tax laws contain various regulations for the design of electronic data transmission. Based on § 87a to § 87d Fiscal Code and the Regulation on the automated retrieval of tax data (tax collection code) provide full scope for electronic communication between citizens, entrepreneurs and fiscal authorities.

Electronic communication with the fiscal authorities requires access via a secure procedure. It is provided through the ELSTER process offered by the fiscal authorities. This enables the fiscal authorities to take the appropriate organizational and state-of-the-art technical precautions to comply with legal requirements.

For the use of ELSTER, the fiscal authorities make My Elster and Elster Forms available. In addition, the implementation of the legal requirements for secure communication with the tax authorities is ensured with the use of the software library ERiC, which is integrated in many commercial and freely available control programs.

ELSTER is the standard of the tax administration.

After Section 87a (1) of the Fiscal Code the electronic communication to the tax authorities is only permitted if the tax authority has opened an access.

The electronic transmission of officially prescribed data sets (for example for tax declarations) is pursuant to Section 87a (6) of the Fiscal Code is to use a secure method that authenticates the data submitter and ensures the confidentiality and integrity of the data sets. This is ensured by the ELSTER procedure. Only in this way has the fiscal authorities opened up access to the transmission of officially prescribed data records pursuant to Section 87a (1) of the Fiscal Code. For this, the use of the software library ERiC of the fiscal authorities is absolutely necessary in order to ensure the implementation of the legal requirements for secure communication with the tax authorities.

Pursuant to § 87b of the Fax Code, in the case of the electronic transmission of officially prescribed data records, the data transmitter is to ensure the proper use of the interfaces officially designated for the respective taxation period or time. Otherwise, the electronic transfer (for example, tax returns) are deemed not to have occurred.

Manufacturers of non-official computer programs for the taxation procedure have to comply, pursuant to § 87c Fiscal Code, with various requirements and to ensure the correct and complete processing of the data within the scope of the program specified in the program description.

If a third party (contractor - for example a member of the tax consulting professions within the meaning of Sections 3 and 4 of the Tax Advisory Act) is commissioned with the electronic transmission according to the officially prescribed data set, the contractor is, pursuant to § 87d Fiscal Code obliged to obtain certainty about the person and the address of the client (identification) before transmitting the data and to record the relevant information in a suitable form. He also has to provide the client with the data in a readily verifiable form for approval, who then has to check it immediately for completeness and accuracy. According to § 72a of the fiscal code, the client is liable for tax damages caused by non-compliance with his obligations under § 87d of the fiscal code.

For the electronic retrieval of data by the taxpayer or a representative, pursuant to § 9 Tax Data Collection Ordinance the ELSTER procedure is to take the appropriate organizational and state-of-the-art technical precautions to safeguard data protection.

Data transmission with electronic authentication

The regulation in Section 87a (6) of the Fiscal Code allows the transmission of paperless tax returns. The certificate file required for electronic authentication is created free of charge during registration. Alternatively, security sticks can be used, or ELSTER-supported signature cards can be registered for the electronic authentication procedure.

The certificate used for electronic authentication ensures the unequivocal identification of the data transmitter to the fiscal authorities. In the case of transmission for a third party, the data must be made available to the "third party" (client) in an easily verifiable form.

Data transmission without electronic authentication

For the income tax return the data transmission can generally be done without electronic authentication. After the electronic transmission, the respective tax return must be printed out, signed by hand and submitted to the tax office.

The transfer of data with electronic authentication is required for corporate tax returns as well as for tax returns created in cooperation with a member of the tax consulting professions within the meaning of Sections 3 and 4 of the Tax Consultancy Act. The transmission of data without electronic authentication is limited in the officially prescribed data set to the income tax returns without the participation of a member of the tax consulting professions.

Chat

Loading data...

Page is loading... - rotating star graphic

Rechtliches

ELSTER - Der Standard der Steuerverwaltung

In der Abgabenordnung und den Einzelsteuergesetzen sind verschiedene Regelungen für die Ausgestaltung der elektronischen Datenübermittlung enthalten. Auf Grundlage von § 87a bis § 87d Abgabenordnung und der Verordnung über den automatisierten Abruf von Steuerdaten (Steuerdaten-Abrufverordung) ergeben sich umfassende Möglichkeiten zur elektronischen Kommunikation zwischen Bürgern, Unternehmern und Finanzverwaltungen.

Für die elektronische Kommunikation mit der Finanzverwaltung ist ein Zugang über ein sicheres Verfahren notwendig. Er wird über das von der Finanzverwaltung angebotene Verfahren ELSTER bereitgestellt. Damit kann die Finanzverwaltung die angemessenen organisatorischen und dem jeweiligen Stand der Technik entsprechenden technischen Vorkehrungen zur Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Vorschriften treffen.

Für die Nutzung von ELSTER stellt die Finanzverwaltung Mein Elster und ElsterFormular zur Verfügung. Zudem wird die Umsetzung der gesetzlichen Anforderungen zur sicheren Kommunikation mit den Finanzbehörden mit der Verwendung der Softwarebibliothek ERiC gewährleistet, die in vielen kommerziellen und frei erhältlichen Steuerprogrammen integriert ist.

Weitere Informationen
Liste aufklappen mit Enter bzw. Leertaste

ELSTER ist der Standard der Steuerverwaltung.

Nach § 87a Absatz 1 Abgabenordnung ist die elektronische Kommunikation an die Finanzbehörden nur zulässig, soweit die Finanzbehörde einen Zugang eröffnet hat.

Für die elektronische Übermittlung von amtlich vorgeschriebenen Datensätzen (zum Beispiel für Steuererklärungen) ist nach § 87a Absatz 6 Abgabenordnung ein sicheres Verfahren zu verwenden, das den Datenübermittler authentifiziert und die Vertraulichkeit und Integrität des Datensatzes gewährleistet. Dies wird durch das Verfahren ELSTER sichergestellt. Nur über diesen Weg hat die Finanzverwaltung nach § 87a Absatz 1 Abgabenordnung einen Zugang für die Übermittlung von amtlich vorgeschriebenen Datensätzen eröffnet. Hierzu ist die Nutzung der Softwarebibliothek ERiC der Finanzverwaltung zwingend erforderlich, damit die Umsetzung der gesetzlichen Anforderungen zur sicheren Kommunikation mit den Finanzbehörden gewährleistet wird.

Nach § 87b Abgabenordnung hat der Datenübermittler bei der elektronischen Übermittlung von amtlich vorgeschriebenen Datensätzen die zum jeweiligen Besteuerungszeitraum oder -zeitpunkt amtlich bestimmten Schnittstellen ordnungsgemäß zu bedienen. Andernfalls gilt die elektronische Übermittlung (zum Beispiel der Steuererklärung) als nicht erfolgt.

Hersteller nicht amtlicher Datenverarbeitungsprogrammen für das Besteuerungsverfahren haben nach § 87c Abgabenordnung verschiedene Vorgaben einzuhalten sowie die richtige und vollständige Verarbeitung der Daten des im Rahmen der Programmbeschreibung angegebenen Programmumfangs zu gewährleisten.

Wird ein Dritter (Auftragnehmer - zum Beispiel ein Angehöriger der steuerberatenden Berufe im Sinne der §§ 3 und 4 des Steuerberatungsgesetzes) mit der elektronischen Übermittlung nach amtlich vorgeschriebenem Datensatz beauftragt, ist der Auftragnehmer nach § 87d Abgabenordnung verpflichtet, sich vor Datenübermittlung Gewissheit über die Person und die Anschrift des Auftraggebers zu verschaffen (Identifizierung) und die entsprechenden Angaben in geeigneter Form festzuhalten. Zudem hat er hat dem Auftraggeber die Daten in leicht nachprüfbarer Form zur Zustimmung zur Verfügung zu stellen, der diese unverzüglich auf Vollständigkeit und Richtigkeit zu überprüfen hat. Nach § 72a Abgabenordnung haftet der Auftraggeber für Steuerschäden, die durch Nichteinhaltung seiner Pflichten nach § 87d Abgabenordnung verursacht worden sind.

Für den elektronischen Abruf von Daten durch den Steuerpflichtigen oder eines Vertreters hat das Verfahren ELSTER nach § 9 Steuerdaten-Abrufverordnung die angemessenen organisatorischen und dem jeweiligen Stand der Technik entsprechenden technischen Vorkehrungen zur Wahrung des Datenschutzes zu treffen.

Datenübermittlung mit elektronischer Authentifizierung

Die Regelung in § 87a Absatz 6 Abgabenordnung ermöglicht die Übermittlung papierloser Steuererklärungen. Die zur elektronischen Authentifizierung erforderliche Zertifikatsdatei wird im Rahmen der Registrierung kostenlos erstellt. Alternativ können Sicherheitssticks genutzt oder von ELSTER unterstützte Signaturkarten für das elektronische Authentifizierungsverfahren registriert werden.

Anhand des zur elektronischen Authentifizierung verwendeten Zertifikats wird der zweifelsfreie Ausweis des Datenübermittlers gegenüber der Finanzverwaltung gewährleistet. Bei der Übermittlung für einen Dritten müssen die Daten dem “Dritten“ (Auftraggeber) in einer für ihn leicht nachprüfbaren Form zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Datenübermittlung ohne elektronische Authentifizierung

Für die Einkommensteuererklärung und bis 31. Dezember 2017 für einige betriebliche Jahressteuererklärungen kann die Datenübermittlung noch ohne elektronische Authentifizierung erfolgen. Nach der elektronischen Übermittlung ist die jeweilige Steuererklärung auszudrucken, eigenhändig zu unterschreiben und beim Finanzamt einzureichen.

Ab 1. Januar 2018 ist die Datenübermittlung für betriebliche sowie für die unter Mitwirkung eines Angehörigen der steuerberatenden Berufe im Sinne der §§ 3 und 4 des Steuerberatungsgesetzes erstellten Steuererklärungen mit elektronischer Authentifizierung notwendig. Die Datenübermittlung ohne elektronische Authentifizierung ist im amtlich vorgeschriebenen Datensatz auf die ohne Mitwirkung eines Angehörigen der steuerberatenden Berufe erstellten Einkommensteuererklärungen beschränkt.